What if New Year’s Resolutions are bad?

re: prompt 2

I’ve never made a New Year’s resolution that I’ve kept. I can’t even remember any resolutions I’ve ever made.

If I looked through some old notebooks, maybe I would find that I have kept a past resolution, but I doubt it.

For the most part, as soon as I write something down that I want to do, I lose the motivation to do it. Same goes for when I tell someone I’m going to do something. As soon as I write or say it, my brain makes up it’s mind that the act has already been completed and I move onto the next thing.

I think I first heard about this phenomena from Derek Sivers:

Tests done since 1933 show that people who talk about their intentions are less likely to make them happen.

Announcing your plans to others satisfies your self-identity just enough that you’re less motivated to do the hard work needed.

So what if New Year’s resolutions are a bad thing that actually keep us from accomplishing the goals we set?

I’ve decided to keep my mouth shut about the resolutions I have for 2014. Instead, maybe we should all focus on being more reliable and keeping our New Year’s revolutions.

Leave a Reply

