Why I Started a Blog

I think, a lot.

I write to get those thoughts out of my head.

I write to figure out what it is I’ve been thinking about.

I’ve been doing this for the past 8 years in notebooks and text files, but want to make those thoughts and ideas more coherent and to share them with people.

I want to see if I can write consistently for an extended period of time, and what my writing will look like after having done so.

I want to see if what I write about changes.

I want to get over the fear I have of sharing those thoughts with other people. In particular, with people I know.

I hope that by writing consistently I can begin to develop an objective viewpoint, and stop taking the words so seriously.

I want to use this blog to explore what I find interesting.

Joseph Campbell said to follow your bliss:

If you do follow your bliss you put yourself on a kind of track that has been there all the while, waiting for you, and the life that you ought to be living is the one you are living. When you can see that, you begin to meet people who are in your field of bliss, and they open doors to you. I say, follow your bliss and don’t be afraid, and doors will open where you didn’t know they were going to be.

I think bliss is different than passion. I don’t necessarily believe in follow your passion. I don’t have a deep passion to write. It’s work to sit down in front of the keyboard or notebook. I have to make a conscious effort to do it. To me, following your bliss is following the thread of an interest to see where it takes you.

Starting this blog is part of a thread I’ve been following for a while now.

This post was in response to Day 1 of the Zero to Hero challenge.

Leave a Reply

