When Your Machine Declares War, Fight

I built a computer last year.

I put a lot of research into the build. I got help from a great community. It was an extremely satisfying project and I highly recommend it to anyone who is at all interested in computers.

When you build your own computer, the learning never stops. There will be moments of frustration. But, if you pay attention, those moments will be followed by great triumphs. You will achieve dominance over a machine which can intimidate the strongest of wills.

Right now — after more than a year of zero problems — my will is being tested. I have ongoing Blue Screen of Death issues. The machine has chosen to battle with its creator.

As with any grand undertaking, victory requires patience and persistence. You can’t expect to defeat your opponent in a single blow. You need to plan your attack carefully and execute one step at a time.

I can still use the computer, but the browser will crash unexpectedly. I know it’s not a browser issue because it occurs no matter which browser I’m using. That’s just the machine trying to distract me from the real problem. The real problem is the BSoD that comes after multiple browser crashes.

I tried updating the drivers last weekend and thought I had won. The drivers hadn’t been updated in over a year. The update worked seamlessly and the crashing disappeared for more than a day. Just when I got comfortable, the crashing returned to test my will.

For the past week, I’ve lived with the intermittent browser crashing and blue screens. I work all week on a computer so it’s demoralizing to sit down in front of one when I get home.

I think the crashing is most troubling when I’m writing a blog post. The browser has already crashed once during this post and I’m sure it will happen again. Crashing during a blog post results in many barely audible “f sakes” and “g damnits”.

I don’t know why I’m telling you this. I guess to get it off my chest and to officially declare war. Just like I’m going to stick this blogging quest out, I’m going to beat this damn machine.

Wish me luck.

2 thoughts on “When Your Machine Declares War, Fight

  1. I have a feeling when you find the problem, it will be something small and you will say, “Now why didn’t I think of that sooner?” I do believe you will win the war!

Comments are closed.