Don’t Try

Yesterday, I wrote about one good sentence, and made reference to one true sentence. Today, I went to my notebook archives to find one of those true sentences, so I can continue to work towards another good one.

Believe in yourself, or get the fuck out.

I first wrote this sentence when composing an updated about page. At the time I didn’t know where it came from. I didn’t even really know what it meant. But now I do.

It’s about pursuing dreams. It’s about not settling. It’s about taking what’s yours rather than helplessly accepting what’s given to you.

If you choose to pursue a dream, you have to go all in. You can’t half-ass it. If you’re not prepared to make sacrifices and go the distance, then you might as well not show up. If you doubt yourself, then you’ll never succeed and it’s not worth trying in the first place. Just stop now, instead.

Bukowski said, “don’t try.” It’s on his grave marker. He meant that shit. But he didn’t want you to give up. Instead of trying, he wanted you to do.

Don’t try. Believe in yourself. Otherwise, get the fuck out.

One thought on “Don’t Try

Comments are closed.