Write Your Guts Out

I know what I want this blog to be. It’s going to come out in short pieces, but I’ll get there.

As I start to recognize blogs and writing that I like, I’m noticing the articles are deeply personal and the writers are opening up completely. It’s like there is a direct link from brain to keyboard. You feel like you could share a few beers with that person.

I’m not sure how I’m going to get there. I have too many thoughts to share and don’t yet know how to translate them to public words, but it’s a place I need to get to.

I hope with each post I can learn to expose a little more, so I can connect with people who need to know they are not alone in whatever this is that makes us contemplate, feel anxious, and write.

There is a sensitivity in artists that others don’t experience. Even if you don’t create, you may have that sensitivity inside you. It needs to come out. You need to express it in some way. You need to throw it against the walls of the universe and see what comes back.

I don’t consider myself an artist but I have that sensitivity. I can feel it in my gut. I’m trying to see what that feeling is so I can rip it out — so others can see it to.

I’ll get there because I have to.

4 thoughts on “Write Your Guts Out

  1. Just taking a look around your blog, as a reader, I think you write well, but I know what you mean about trying to get it out. My finished work is almost never what I thought it was going to be when I started it. And, any writer who is honest will tell you this: Writing is hard for everyone. It’s just that once you get enough practice, you start producing things that look, to a reader, like they were easy. I encourage you to keep at it. The other night I was talking to my wife about some frustrations I am having, and I made the statement “Nobody WANTS to be a writer. I don’t write because I want to, I write because I have to.” I am sure part of that is a quote from some famous person, but it is true. When I look back over my life, the most miserable times are the times when I went long periods about writing. Writing is more important to my sanity and happiness than money or friends.

  2. You said it Gene’O! Thanks for the encouragement and sharing your story. I couldn’t agree more with you about writing being there when you need it the most.

Comments are closed.